Retro City Rampage: A Nostalgic Reminder

Well as I am writing this on the last day of 2012 I thought I would talk about the game which for me was my favorite release this year. Retro City Rampage is a love letter to those gamers like myself who grew up in the 80’s watching Saturday morning cartoons, collecting Garbage Pail Kids and of course playing Nintendo all day.  Released in October of 2012 on the Playstaion Network by VBlank Entertainment RCR is a top down open world action game much like Rockstar’s GTA series but re-imagined as an 8-bit NES game. I won’t get too much into the history of it all, but if you want to know more then please hit up wikipedia to get your answers. This game is packed to the brim with 80’s cultural references from Knight Rider, Ghostbusters, The A-Team and more NES references than you could possibly imagine. Of course each reference is a parody to it’s source material clearly done for laughs. For me it was a reminder of a simpler time in gaming when games came in cartridges, multiplayer meant you and a friend in the same room and reading gaming magazines for all your gaming news, tips and tricks. I could go on and on about this game but I put the official trailer from VBlank so you can see and judge for yourself. If you want to talk about the game itself or wax nostalgic about the NES days then leave me a comment below. A release is also upcoming for both the Xbox 360 and Nintendo Wii in January. Enjoy the trailer and as always game on gamerz!   

Leave a Reply

